1962 Club books: an overview

Reading books from a single year and writing about them is the brilliant premise of Karen and Simon’s Book Club weeks. This time it’s 1962. What have I got on my shelf, what have I already read and what would I read if I had a copy to hand?

Possible 1962 books on my TBR

Initially, I thought I only had two 1962 books available on my shelf (The Bull from the Sea and The Cross and the Switchblade), but further investigation revealed more, in one case, from the online library. Read on to find which book I picked as my ‘1962 book of the year’.

1962 Club possibles

The Bull From the Sea, Mary Renault. As a teenager, I read a couple of Mary Renault’s books and enjoyed them, but this is the second in a series about Theseus. It can be read on its own, but I read a couple of pages and wasn’t enthralled, so this will have to wait.

The Cross and the Switchblade, David Wilkerson, John Sherrill, Elizabeth Sherrill. There seems to some confusion about whether this was published in 1962 or 1963, but WorldCat has a British edition listed in ‘62 and that is the first date inside my copy. I’m not going to get to it this week, but I may fit it in during Novellas in November.

The Adventures of Tom Bombadil, J.R.R. Tolkien. Short and sweet. I shall try to sneak this in as a book at bedtime.

Explosion in a Cathedral, Alejo Carpentier. A couple of years ago, I was impressed with Carpentier’s novella The Chase, which I read for the 1956 Club. On the other hand, I keep abandoning The Lost Steps, one of his 1001 List books. I am trying to read it in a Dutch translation, which slows me down.

Paddington at Large, Michael Bond. At one time, I may have had an original paperpack copy, but I now have an omnibus with five Paddington books. Another bedtime book, perhaps.

A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess, 1001 (library e-book). I feel I ought to read it, but it’s not on my physical shelf, so it’s staying on the mental back burner.

Erle Stanley Gardner was also writing up a storm in 1962, but I have other books I’d rather read. My husband has three of the four books he had published in 1962: The Case of the Reluctant Model, The Case of the Blonde Bonanza, The Case of the Ice-Cold Hands. The one that interests me most is a travel book that we don’t own: The Hidden Heart of Baja.

Read in the past

It seems that I have already read and reviewed many books published in 1962. Most links are to my Goodreads reviews.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Ken Kesey, 1001 list, read in 2012. Unexpectedly brilliant.

The Golden Notebook, Doris Lessing. 1001. Read in 2012. I was not impressed.

The Pumpkin Eater, Penelope Mortimer. Read in 2011. Are women repressed or is it a lack of self-worth when they settle down to a life of domesticated ’bliss’? I was somewhat ambivalent about this novella.

An End to Running, Lynne Reid Banks. Read in 2013. A Jewish London playwright, bullied into writing in an avant-garde style by his overbearing sister, escapes with his secretary to a kibbutz in Israel. It is not at all what he expected. Fascinating insights into a 1960s kibbutz and pitch-perfect scenes in London.

King Rat, James Clavell. Read in 2013. I really hadn’t expected to enjoy this at all, the story of a Japanese POW camp, so was amazed that it was a 4-star read. It reminded me of Empire of the Sun, which I also loved.

A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle, read in 2010. I seem to remember enjoying this, but being confused.

Apple Bough, Noel Streatfeild. I’m sure I read this as a child. I adored Streatfeild’s books. I was hoping to read it before the end of the week, but alas, I doubt I’ll have time.

De brief voor de koning (The Letter for the King), Tonke Dragt. Read in 2012. This is a fantastic fairytale-like story about a young boy in the Middle Ages, Tiuri, who is asked to take a letter to the king, meeting many challenges and adventures on the way. In the last couple of years it was translated into English (from Dutch ) by Laura Watkinson and made into a film. The sequel, Geheimen van het wilde woud (The Secrets of the Wild Wood) is still TBR. Coincidentally, I picked a later book by Tonke Dragt to read for Dutch children’s book week this year (Kinderboekenweek, 4-15 October): a slim but complicated sci-fi novella, De torens van februari (The Towers of February). It follows a teenage boy, unhappy in his current life, who manages to travel to an alternate universe where things seem better, and yet… When the opportunity arises, should he try to return to his family, or stay? I hope to review this soon.

Robert the Rose Horse, Joan Heilbroner, P.D. Eastman (ill.). Dr Seuss books are usually not for me, bar a few. This is one of the few. In spite of the muted and limited colour palette, this one actually has a proper story arc and (of course) a happy ending, when the horse who can’t hold down a job due to his terrible allergies finally finds just the place where it’s an advantage. I’ve forgotten where he ends up; time for a reread!

Chicken Soup With Rice: A Book of Months, Maurice Sendak. To be honest, I haven’t read this book as such, but the Chicken Soup With Rice of the title is a poem that brings back lovely memories. When my sons were about 6 and 4, we moved to Hamburg, where they went to the international school. Every Friday (or was it once a month?) there was an assembly with the whole primary and junior school, with one class each time giving some sort of performance: a song, a poem or a sketch. One of their classes recited this poem, which I had never heard before. I suspect it was the youngest and it was only the January verse, because that’s when we arrived, in the snow. All I can remember is the end: “Something once, something twice, Something chicken soup with rice!” Checking YouTube, January’s verse was “Sipping once, sipping twice…” You can watch the whole book read on YouTube. There are several versions. Carole King recorded a sung version, but it loses the whole rhythm of the poem, which is half the point. This version is my favourite, I think, even if it’s not the most polished. It entirely recreates the feeling of a teacher or librarian reading out loud to a class full of children. Wonderful!

Chicken Soup With Rice by Maurice Sendak

Wishlist books

If I didn’t have several hundred unread books on my shelves, I might have procured myself a copy of any of these. Just look at this roll call of incredible authors! I’m slightly suspicious of the fact there aren’t any authors whose surnames start with a letter higher than J in the alphabet, but this is the list I have and that’s already more than enough.

The Woman in the Dunes, Kobo Abe

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, Joan Aiken

Another Country, James Baldwin

The Drowned World, J.G. Ballard

Something Wicked This Way Comes, Ray Bradbury

The Man in the High Castle, Philip K. Dick

We Have Always Lived in the Castle, Shirley Jackson

My 1962 Book of the Year is…

Explosion in a Cathedral by Alejo Carpentier. After sampling a couple of pages of Explosion, I was sold. This is my 1962 Book of the Year, or at least, the one I shall definitely read and review.

Hosted by Karen at Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings and Simon at Stuck in a Book

3 thoughts on “1962 Club books: an overview”

  1. I very much enjoyed The Letter for the King when I first read it (also the Dutch film version), and like you have The Secrets of the Wild Wood waiting on my TBR. My mother read The Reluctant Model as one of her 1962 picks, but I hadn’t realised Ice Cold Hands was 1962 as well–It is right in front on my shelves. Wolves of Willoughby Chase is a wonderful read, and I’m always pleased to see Paddington 🙂 Great range in your post.

    Like

Leave a comment here!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.